Aussie dream gal Tia Henricks sits down to discuss life, dreams, fashion, & femininity.

instagram ~ tumblr ~ wordpress

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Thanks so much for taking the time to talk with me, Tia.
First off, can you tell me a little bit about yourself?

Hey gal, I’m Tia. I’m at the ripe ol’ age of 17, finishing school this year!

Why do you think you are the way you are today? What’s helped shape you?

Definitely external factors. My mum wasn’t the best through my years of growing up and I had my Dad working on the other side of the country. With no brothers or sisters I definitely had to learn from an early age how to mentally and emotionally fight for myself. I definitely would not be who I am without that drag.

blogger-image-1983203271

What drives you? What is your biggest motivator, the thing that drags you out of bed in the morning?

Well, for this year I have a trip to the USA planned over December. That’s one thing getting me out of bed and prepped for. Generally just experiences/ trips and just happy days. They are what drive me most.

What’s your biggest aspiration?

My biggest aspiration, as unrealistic as it is, I would love love love to live overseas. I want to write, keep working collaboratively with brands, just keep growing all my projects and hopefully one day one will have a promise of a job!

Processed with VSCO with b1 preset
Processed with VSCO with b1 preset

Who is your biggest inspiration?

Myself. I feel it’s super important to look up to yourself, because when you see the good within, you begin to love and loving yourself is priority.

Where/how do you see yourself in ten years?

Hopefully in the back of a ute travelling down Route 66, hahahah, New York City, really living, nothing less.

Describe your dream day.

Ooooh… I have a thousand and one. A Sunday – New York apartment, light flooding in, music loud, no clothes, writing. A Wednesday – getting onto the road, finding beautiful valleys and mountains and hiking through them. Friday night – no sleep, stars, a few drinks, big coats, city lights or none at all.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Tell me about your favourite music and bands/artists.

It would go on for years. I have a very vast music taste. I want to say I like literally anything but that ain’t true. I love rock bands: Pink Cloud, Radiohead, INXS, The Rolling Stones, Jagwar Ma. All sorts of bands. I have so many I can’t possibly rattle them all off!

Then artists: Bob Dylan, Mac DeMarco, but I also love a good old French artist like Francoise Hardy. I love blues, like Richie Valens, Santo & Johnny, B.B. King, Arethra, Etta James. Guilty pleasures like Jet, Shinedown and The Temper Trap.

Just check out my spotify: @tiahenricks

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Do you prefer old music? If so, why?

Not always. It’s got a real heart in it, it feels very wholesome to listen to, very true to its time. I feel like the essence of nostalgia actually lives within my records, hiding.

Would you call yourself a feminist?

The word’s overused and tired. I am a supporter of all rights, not just women’s. But definitely girl power all the way, love yourselves. But yeah, I definitely feel like I am a supporter of the people. I think that’s crucial.

In light of current world issues, where do you think feminism stands? Is it as important today as it was, say, 100 years ago?

Women have been fighting for years for equal rights. I’ve watched tons of documentaries and googled millions of photos of women’s marches and women’s power, even in the 60s. I feel like it is always an issue close to a woman’s heart. But we must empower every person.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

What does womanhood mean to you?

Strength, independence, growth, freedom.

What do you do to pull yourself out of a funk? Whether it be a bad mood, writer’s block, etc.

I let it settle. It’s inevitable. You can’t force yourself to create a masterpiece every time you pick up the paintbrush. It’s human nature to fuck up things; it’s how we learn. I let it be, as The Beatles once said.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Your style is incredible. Do you use clothing as a way to express yourself?

I definitely do, a total mirror of my moods.

You believe in shopping small, local and handmade, right? Why is that?

I think op-shopping is the best way to save your money. I’m living proof you can get a whole wardrobe out of small, local, op-shop, and vintage store clothing. I feel like it’s easier to create your own independent style when shopping in places such as op-shops. It gives you a chance to recreate old clothes and turn them into something you love. The uniqueness and time it takes to scrummage makes it all worth the while.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Your poetry is beautiful, Tia. I’ve had such a pleasure reading the draft of your book Wind Chimes In A Hurricane. What does poetry mean to you?

Poetry to me is, well, I’m stumped. Hmm… An expression of the inner workings of my mind and feelings. It’s my emotions put into a whirlpool of sentences.

What do you hope for your readers to get out of your poetry?

I just want people to feel. Today’s society is so masked with their iPhones and technology that experiences like reading good books is scarce. People don’t read anymore. I hope this book transfers people to feel what I feel, and hopefully inspires them to do something of the same nature. True expression.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Best advice you’ve heard?

Now now now, is all you have.

One last question. How do you find the confidence to be unashamedly you?

I just do it. Simple as that. Opinions of others aren’t your business. Who gives a fuck. We have one life, religions aside, let’s be real. One life, USE IT. Be the best, be the loudest, create, make, meet people, take up every opportunity.

T x

blogger-image--213480904
All photos sourced from Tia’s social media.

dark-grey-jennifer-at-brave-new-home-signature

